Golf Tenerife

An insight of what its like to live and golf in Tenerife

The IV Circuito de Tenerife and La Gomera started at Beunavista

leave a comment »

It was 5.45 am and the alarm went off, I was in my Hotel the Las Aguilas at Puerto de la Cruz having travelled up from my home in the south the night before. The date May 15th and the first game in the Golf  Tenerife Circuito 2010 held at the beautiful Buenavista golf course in the North of the island.

Leaving the hotel I followed the coast road to the Buenavista course it was dark, cold, windy with smirry rain a big change from the weather I had left in the South the day before. As I approached the course around 7.15am the sky was becoming lighter with the temp rising a bit, but blowing a gale.

DSCF2742

The event at Buenavista  is organised by the Tenerife golf association  and was the first of 7 tournaments held at Golf Courses throughout the island it was  oversubscribed which goes to show the popularity of the Circuito is within the golfing community here in Tenerife with around 160 players registered to play.

My tee off time was 8.05,  the 2nd group out after a three ball, I think the last tee time was around 3pm in the afternoon so a big field indeed and a lot of work for Beatriz and Jaime from the association who were on hand all day, and evening, sorting out the many problems that I’m sure did arise but were not obvious to the competitors.

I finished my game at around 12.30 so I had plenty of time to head back to the hotel in Puerto have a swim and relax as the presentation of prizes I expected to be at around 9pm. I had dinner at the hotel, as the food was excellent, met John Beckley who was staying in the same hotel and we headed back to the Golf course together for the evening reception . We arrived  just in time for the prize giving, just as well as unbeknown to John he had won his category and was presented with a lovely trophy.

DSCF2792

I must just mention the Golf course itself, Buenavista Golf which on July 1st- 4th is holding the Tenerife Ladies Open part of the European Tour. The greens for our tournament had been hollow tined, about two weeks before, so putting for us was tricky to say the least but I understand the management and green keepers position as I am sure by the time the Tour gets there the greens will be excellent and after all these Ladies make their living playing golf.

To sum up the day my golf was not up to standard so no prizes for me this time, but I enjoyed  the day,the golf, meeting old friends and some new ones. I am looking forward to the next outing on the circuito Las Americas Golf on June the 19th, here in the South,where I am sure the weather will be much kinder to us soft Scots….

Leave a Reply

