Golf Tenerife

An insight of what its like to live and golf in Tenerife

Golfing in Tenerife: The Spring Hotels Tournament

leave a comment »

Spring Hotels,  who are a major chain of 4* Hotels throughout Tenerife held their 2nd annual golf tournament at Golf Del Sur golf course on  Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd of May 2009 attracting some 110 competitors, both men and women, of all handicap levels from all over the Island of Tenerife and beyond. Both my Wife and I had the pleasure in playing both days in this most prestigious event.

DSC_3037 DSCF0897

No hurry guys its a nice day !

On arrival at Golf Del Sur we were met at the reception area by representatives of Spring hotels where we registered and were each  given from the sponsors  a lovely “goodie” bag containing a hat, pen, soaps, T-shirt and golf balls .

We were then given our buggy keys and score cards, all the hard work on them had already done for us,  by working out how many shots each competitor got by handicap, thanks to the Golf Del Sur staff.

DSC_2279 (1) DSC_2560

The Sun was shining for this competition

The format on Day 1 was a pairs competition, the better ball format was used,whereby both players play and the best score at each hole using the stableford scoring system was used. This brought in some great scoring with one pair managing some 48 points.

Day 2 was for the Canada cup an individual stableford event.

The scoring system  for day two was  individual and the scores for each pair were counted then added to the first days score. Both days we were given super hospitality at the 9th hole which was appreciated by all competitors I am sure.

DSCF0904 DSCF0908

Hospitality was supplied at the 9th hole

To round off two great days of golf, fellowship and fun there was a cocktail party and prize giving on the final day.The prizes were some of the best I have ever seen at any event. Spring Hotels had organised from various sponsors a variety of prizes including overseas trips, plane tickets, All-inclusive hotel stays,  ferry tickets, blackberry phones, Large ham, Montblanc gifts,and many cases of wine.

DSCF0724 DSCF0733

The Course was in great order

How did we do ? Well as I had a bad back I did not so well, but my Wife came 4th overall so she won one of the two night stays at the Costa Los  Gigantes Spa and resort hotel and a beautiful trophy, which I may add put all my trophies to shame. So well done her, and as her prize was for two I will be going to Los Gigantes with her. I am looking forward to my visit as the facilities look first class and I have heard the food is great.

They had a fantastic raffle in which some of the top prizes were included, having watched it I think its fair to say most couples won something . To make matters worse my wife also won a case of wine in the raffle afterwards, me I won nothing ! … But I for one, god willing,  will be entering this fine competition again next year…

Leave a Reply

